Stupid Question about lights .........

Sun Ra

Baked
Community Member
User ID
My grow space is a partitioned off laundry under my house - an old Queenslander. Anyway the space measures approx 3.5m x 2.5m with a height of 1.8m. For my past few grows I have used 2 x Spiderfarmer SF-4000 (450w) LED lights hung about 40cms apart.

So far it's been fine and I usually try to get 10 plants in the space in 5 gallon/20 litre cloth bag pots. Look - I know a lot of people here hang shit on these lights and if I had my time over I probably would have gotten something else but I was a bit of a newbie at the time of purchase just getting back into growing after 20 years off.

Anyway - funny thing - when I bought the lights from SF's eBay listings, one that they sent me looked like it had been dropped and had a corner where the aluminium body of the unit was grazed and bent on a 30% angle. The light worked/works fine. Anyway I sent them a message via eBay with a photo complaining about it and suggested they check their QC and they just sent me another one - which I've just kept as a spare.

So my question is - I'm thinking about hanging the third light in the room and wondering if that would be a good idea ? Would it increase my yield given I could fit a couple more plants in there. Or would the 3rd light be overkill for the space ? Thoughts ?

Please join our community to continue reading

Forgot your password?
Don't have an account? Register now

Porky

The Dwarf Hermie King
User ID
My grow space is a partitioned off laundry under my house - an old Queenslander. Anyway the space measures approx 3.5m x 2.5m with a height of 1.8m. For my past few grows I have used 2 x Spiderfarmer SF-4000 (450w) LED lights hung about 40cms apart.